Taylor Wessing advises International Chemical Investors Group (ICIG) on the acquisition of INEOS Sulphur Chemicals Spain SLU in Bilbao

The international law firm Taylor Wessing, led by Frankfurt based M&A partner Stephan Doom and Phil Shepherd from London, provided comprehensive legal advice to the International Chemical Investors Group (ICIG) on the acquisition of the sulphuric acid production plant in Bilbao from INEOS Enterprises.

INEOS Sulphur Chemicals Spain SLU is Spain's largest dedicated manufacturer of sulphuric acid and oleum with applications ranging from the agricultural sector to chemical intermediates. The plant located in the harbour of Bilbao becomes part of the WeylChem Group, the fine chemicals platform within International Chemical Investors Group. This transaction, together with the existing sulphuric acid production of WeylChem Lamotte, in northern France, creates one of the leading sulphuric acid producers in the Franco-Spanish region.

International Chemical Investors is a privately owned industrial group with total sales more than EUR 2 billion and over 5.685 employees. ICIG is focusing on three main platforms: Pharmaceuticals under the CordenPharma brand, Fine Chemicals under the WeylChem brand and Chlorovinyls / PVC products under the Vynova brand. Since its inception in 2004 ICIG has grown to operate more than 25 independent chemicals and pharmaceutical businesses in Europe and the United States, all of which have origins in major global chemical or pharmaceutical corporations.

INEOS Enterprises is a global market leader in the production of intermediary chemicals. The companies have a diverse portfolio of chemical products that are used as an essential input into chemical value chains across a broad variety of end markets and sectors, such as paints, coatings, construction, automotive, packaging and medical devices. INEOS Enterprises serve these sectors with an extensive manufacturing presence in North America, Europe and China, with 25 manufacturing plants across the UK, US, France, Germany, Sweden, Switzerland, Canada, Spain, Finland, Poland and China.